Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

The Jim McFarlane memorial Sculpture - Conisbrough

Ive been out and about in Conisbrough photographing sculpture this morning for the ArtUK Sculpture Project.  The is a very moving sculpture by Barnsley artist Graham Ibbeson, which depicts the last moments of a miners life after an underground roof fall.  Alongside him stands his wife who looks out with determination in order to fight the injustice of his needless death.  I believe it met with a fair amount of opposition from the vicar and members of the local community when it was first unveiled, but for me this is one of the most emotional and sympathetic sculptures that Graham has created.  My grandad was a miner.
I’ve never visited Conisbrough town before and it’s a long time since I last visited the castle and I’ve done both today.  I think I might need to go back as the light wasn’t sympathetic to photographing sculpture and I might need to do them again - too bright.  I picked Ann up at church, a few miles away, and we went to Potteric Carr for lunch.  So I’ve also got a very nice dragonfly image too - oh and a quick watercolour sketch of the castle as part of my new project to keep my drawing/ sketching going - there was some mention of a 100 day project and I’m not sure I will get there, but you never know!  I’m still doing Blipfoto after all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.