St Kevin's Arcade

Up well before dawn this morning as I was on the 0730 flight to Wellington for a Council meeting. Usual haunts on a quick run, taken with the express purpose of ensuring that I got the daily run. Running off Karangahape Road is a short arcade leading into Myers park. St Kevin's Arcade has a few interesting premises in it.

At such an early hour it was locked off near the entrance from K Road, and also at the top of the steps down to the park. I knew that and so approached from the park.

I have seen this mural before, and tried to get a decent picture of it before, and not posted it before. This time it is my only photograph from today. The elements in this seem quite random and bizarre. The man in the suit appears to be like the NZ Prime Minister from 1975 to 1984 Robert Muldoon, later Sir Robert. The speech bubble has him saying "I love graffiti". In actuality, he loathed graffiti and its producers.

Why anyone would consider that HRH would be a disc jockey escapes me.

The meeting was oddly productive, as these things go. During a break, one of the staff brought out a viewer she had had from when she was first employed there (in 1992) and we were all able to safely and effectively see the partial eclipse.

A pleasant flight home; just enough time for the Times crossword puzzle, and a second cryptic. Back to S, a quiet meal and an easy choice of photo to blip. Early night I suspect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.