While on my runs

By waipushrink

Pohutukawa sunrise

After an early night I slept soundly (whether or not with sound) until at 0530 the two boys decided that as the daylight was coming in through their curtainless windows (curtains/blinds a couple of weeks away) it was time to whisper and giggle and climb up and down into and out of the bunk.

As I stay awake when I wake at that time I got up and joined them. Not long after I got up, I saw that another glorious sunrise was about to happen, and I went out to the cliff edge corner of the property and took a series of pictures. About a dozen. As it happens this is the first one, and with only slight adjustment to lessen the depth of the shadow, so that it was rather closer to as it was to the human viewer.

The two pohutukawa trees between which I focussed on the sun and sky are actually on the cliff edge beyond my mother-in-law's property. To enhance her view, she has kept the lower branches thinned, and that also allows me to see through and over Kawau Bay.

Later in the morning I went out for a run. By then the clouds had fairly extensively covered the sky, and I even felt a few drops of rain. Little of interest after the pukeko decided that my camera posed a danger to its life, and flew off quickly.

My day has thereafter been a mixture of reading the agenda for tomorrow's meeting, dealing with two highly charged and very excitable lads, and general maintenance tasks at the Beach House. Because of my agenda reading, S took the boys to the main Snells beach, where they played and argued and regretted the distance the tide was out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.