A Phool in Nepal

By PhoolR

Making Pots of Money

I took a trip to Bhaktapur, and amongst the many interesting characters were these people making money jars for children to keep their coins in. The idea is that their parents give them the loose coins (1 & 2 rupees - 1-2¢) they have at the end of the day which they then put into these pots. The pots are completely sealed aside from the slot for the money, and when they're full they smash them to get the money they've saved.

I did my bit for poverty in Nepal today... by giving out a couple of wet wipes. A young girl was selling some handmade wallets (that were nice, but I didn't want to buy), and strapped to her back she had her baby sister. I was amused to see that she had chocolate all around her face and all over her hands (I hope it was chocolate...). I assume that some tourist had given her a piece of chocolate. She was wiping her hands all down the older girls back and when I pointed it out she was horrified. She unwrapped the cloth that was holding her sister and told her off for making such a mess. Then she proceeded to pick up a dirty tissue from the floor to wipe her hands. I just had to do my bit for world poverty and generously donated a few wet wipes to help her cause. I know, what a hero.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.