Lunch with a friend...

After this mornibg’s U3A coffee morning my friend and I got the bus to town for lunch to celebrate me having s3cured my dream house.
We’d seen an advert for a restaurant’s updated vegan restaurant so despite Joss being a dedicated meat and fish eater and me being a sort of loosely interpreted veggie we had decided to try this delicious sounding vegan menu.
We both opted for Fritto Misty to start abd me for vegetable tagine for mains while Joss had her heart set on a noodle dish. Sadly they had no noodles so she asked what the veggie burger contained. After a couple of trips to the kitchen the waiter said he thought corn. Not very specific but she risked it.
The starter was a delight; good selection of crispy battered vegetables with a chili mayo sort of dip.
And then it went downhill fast. My tagine was barely lukewRm; even after I sent it back it was never hot. Joss’ burger looked like the sort of patty you’d get in Iceland. I tasted it and it started quite tasty but weirdly chewy and long before I’d chewed it enough to swallow it all taste had gone.
Interestingly when we read the menu again we saw that the vegetables were supposed to come with a lime pickle dip. They certainly didn’t!
We decided not to risk a desert after we heard that only half the deserts on the menu were available.
But the wine was good and we had a lovely chat and did say to the waiter that we were very disappointed in the experience.
Happy to say the weather is much cooler!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.