NellieD

By NellieD

Adventure Before Dementia

I didn't have chance to blip anything at lunch today as I was acting as a delivery driver for the food bank I support. I'd recently heard an announcement on the radio called 'Fill the Food Bank' and suggested they applied. It was a campaign to get people to donate stock to food banks so they can increase the support they give to people over the summer holidays. 

One in three children living in poverty in Greater Manchester can go without a meal over the summer holiday. I guess when you're already struggling, having those hungry tummy's at home all day - with no school dinners to rely on - means what little you do have, has to go even further. My car was literally filled to the brim! People are so generous.

I thought I would postpone my blip until after work as I am on house watch duty for my parents.  They came back from a river cruise in Germany last week and now they've just gone off again to Guernsey! My granddad worked so hard all his life and didn't have chance to enjoy it as he died within a year of retirement. My dad retired early and they are certainly making the most of it. They call it their Adventure Before Dementia!

They have a beautiful garden so I knew there would be something to blip!

Quote for today:
If you can't feed a hundred people, then just feed one.
- Mother Teresa

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.