Traditional and Iconic

Such a lovely day today in one of my favourite cities and with some of my favourite people. I love the train journey from Haddenham & Thame Parkway station, although today I needed to change at Banbury. My first train arrived there at the same time as the train with which I needed to connect - I moved fast but only just had time to get off, cross the bridge and get onto the right platform before the guard was ready to wave his flag and blow his whistle - we were off; a few more minutes wriggle time would have been good and anybody moving more slowly would have missed it.

Love those trains though - elegant, comfortable, wifi, electricity sockets for charging - the only things they miss out on is a source of coffee or alcohol on the train and/or time to replenish coffee when changing trains.

So I arrived in Birmingham as planned and had in mind a shot I knew I could get with the tiny St Martin's church in juxtaposition with the iconic Selfridge's building; here I have done a bit of reverse processing to enhance the contrast.

The blipfriends I met in John Lewis' store are the 'gang of three' (not the Fab Four) and we now have regular gatherings around the cauldron planning new escapades; this time we are all heading to Spain In September and were planning for this; there is another group hug booked for next May in Northumberland.

I/we were distracted around the distorted reflections of New Street station.  I never tire of this place - such a  creative architect with vision and I still get very excited by the infinite reflections.  I spent many hours here in pursuit of my ARPS with blipbuddy Hildasrose as a loyal supporter along the way.

Now planning to go north again tomorrow to visit friends in Retford - not very far north I admit but still a scary journey for one from the south! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.