Willys At Waitrose

Look what I pulled up next to at Waitrose! It’s not every day you see one of these out and about, especially filled with flowers and parked up at the supermarket! (See Extra photo for a slightly different view)

I would have just called it an American army Jeep, but doing a little research I believe it’s actually called a Willys Jeep, though I have no idea which model. The history of their manufacture and use in WW2 is fascinating reading.

Wikipedia tells me...
“The success of the jeep inspired both an entire category of recreational 4WDs and SUVs, making 'four-wheel drive' a household term, and numerous incarnations of military light utility vehicles. In 2010, the American Enterprise Institute called the jeep "one of the most influential designs in automotive history", and its “sardine tin on wheels” silhouette perhaps even more instantly recognizable than the VW Beetle.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.