Almost Missed It

Our super hot weather is soon coming to an end - so they tell us. Apparently we will go back to ‘normal’ summer temperatures from Wednesday. So once again, I spent the morning doing some small jobs in the garden when it was still cool, and this afternoon, after a very late lunch, I escaped the heat and went indoors to get caught up on some paperwork at my desk.

I got quite engrossed in it and by the time I pulled myself away it was well into the evening and I almost completely missed an amazing sunset. I forget that it’s getting darker much earlier now! I hate missing a good sunset, but I did get the tail end. My sister sent me a picture taken from her house - 45 minutes away from me, but the sky looked very much the way it did here. See Extra photo.

I took this while I was watering the flowers around the front garden. Most of the pink had gone, but it was still a beautiful sky to watch while I was watering. I didn’t want to go in when the watering was done, so I treated myself to an ice cream on a stick while I sat and enjoyed the cooler air and the last of the lingering light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.