Runcorn and Latchford Canal

Out with the walking group today on a walk around Moore Nature Reserve. I only took the one photo as the light was poor and it actually started to rain towards the end of the walk. I had intended taking a better picture at Winsford Flashes this afternoon while I was doing my volunteer driving  but road closures meant I spent most of the time trying to get round diversions and sat in queues so I have had to use this morning's emergency blip.

While the photo isn't very exciting it is actually a very interesting spot as the path follows the bed of the old Runcorn and Latchford canal which was built in 1804 to avoid the shallow stretches of the Mersey at Fiddler's Ferry. The canal extended for 7 miles but most of it fell into disuse when the Manchester Ship Canal was built. Although you can't see from the picture there are remnants of the wall of the canal on either side and it was wider than the Shropshire Union Canal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.