Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Velodrome

After watching the European Championship cycling in Glasgow city centre on Sunday afternoon, I took a notion to see if I could get a ticket to the track cycling event at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome on Monday.

Thankfully there were some tickets left at a price I was willing to pay and so I returned to Glasgow on Monday evening. I hadn't visited the Velodrome before and I have to say I was most impressed (see extra). The action on the track was world-class, too, with the finals of several disciplines taking place - the Men's Sprint, the Women's 500m Time Trial and the last two events of the Women's Omnium - the Elimination Race and the Points Race.

There was home interest in the Women's Omnium, with local woman Katie Archibald expected to do well. In the end, she won a silver medal in that event, with Kirstin Wild of the Netherlands (main blip) winning a well-deserved gold.

A novel, most enjoyable and exciting evening out. Took the train back to Cumbernauld and drove home from there. The photos of the evening would have to wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.