Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Themes for the day

The artwork got a bit more colourful as the day progressed.  Inspired by some images flagged up on Pinterest I began with the theme of grey (one of my Pinterest boards is `grey’ and worked on a mark making theme of stripes.  I ended up with a panel of 6 squares, one of which I like more than the others, but then that’s the joy of working a series.  I needed some colour in the afternoon and I’d really liked the colour scheme of a painting that I’d also seen on Pinterest earlier in the morning.  So working from memory I put together a doodle using pastel pencils to try and capture the essence of the colours which I then wanted to work into a small experimental drawing based on the rock face in a quarry.

In between I managed Tai Chi, a little gardening, an excursion to the garden to look for Mint Moths - I found one but by the time I’d found my camera it had gone.  And I did a bit of research on Blue Butterflies.  I now wonder if my Umbria `blue’ was `Amanda’s Blue’ and not a Common Blue as I’d previously thought - my guidebook could be clearer, so I’m not totally sure! This led me to do some tagging of my Umbria photos (not all of them) which I seem to have neglected.  And I did look up a few of Barnsley’s sculptures as I might go and spend a few hours photographing for the Art UK project tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.