Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Sad

I am so very sad to say that little Libby didn’t make it though the night. The upset wildlife center gal I called this am who tried to save her made me promise next time to call them sooner, and of course got me upset too. again.   Then she talked about how all the seals are too thin this year , (as well the Orcas)  from humans overfishing.  But they want to save every animal so it can grow up ? without enough to eat.?   What am I missing?     All I know is that I couldn’t watch and I do hope another doesn’t adopt us…but I would have to call if it does.. (I promised)  and they would send out their boat to assess it.      It did spare us from seeing the eagles and turkey vultures eat her which would have been impossible for me to watch or photograph,,,( but then it has deprived those birds of a meal they might really need….. )
Statistics are that 50% of seal pups don’t make it through a year.  Who knows why the newborns get abandoned…Maybe Mom doesn’t have enough milk or food for herself or maybe she knows something about the small one that we don’t know.  There is a healthy seal population in numbers.   The Orcas (just 75 now) are a bigger worry as they are truly endangered,,. maybe you have heard about the one that has been pushing her dead baby around since it was born july 24 and not eating, and hasn’t been sighted for days now..… and there is another in that same pod that is sick and starving for which there are  plans to feed her antibiotics.. (interesting..it’s illegal in Canada to feed wild marine life, but not in the USA so it depends where this one is when they catch sight of her.   Or she might be already gone)   There have been no babies to live in 3 years in this resident pod .  …and there’s not enough for them all to eat.     both seals and Orcas eat salmon and they’ve been overfished and blocked from their spawning grounds,  It’s so complicated. ( another blip about the save the whales movement…later)
Oh dear…I do think we shouldn’t interfere with how nature works in general… but still……..it’s a heartbreaker,.,.,.

The photo is last night’s sunset out of the bedroom window with the iphone.    I was so tired I couldn’t manage to go down on the deck with camera but if there is a good one tonight I will and replace this.    
for Libby, bless her.


Out for dinner at the marina…. not sure I can ever eat much, if any,  fish again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.