Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Puget Sound

The same Salish Sea that surrounds the Gulf Islands.   The same wildfire smoke from BC obscuring the islands on the other side and the Olympic mountains.    It’s been like this for 10 days, says my friend from whose apartment balcony I took this picture looking west.   This is noon.   At 3 with the sun more westerly, it was even more hazy (but I liked this one better).  Freighters load grain at this terminal …. I think Seattle has just made a record of the longest time with no measurable rainfall since 1951.  (!)


Book club there today.  Jose Saramago’s Baltasar and Blimunda.  18th C Portugal with the great difference between the kings and priests and what they did with their wealth, and the common folks;  the inquisition; a love story.  It wove in real people and places, the magnificent monastery/palace at Mafra and imaginary characters.    A hard read for me as there are some sentences of small print that are 3 pages long! but I’m glad I read it......and could appreciate his historical telling and yes, lots of humor.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.