WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Bars within bars

Some days at the computer seem to pass without my achieving very much, and at 6 0'clock I feel as if I've wasted the day. So I have to remind myself what I've achieved: Spanish lesson, answering emails, fixing bugs, finishing off a search facility for a website, sorting out an invoice numbering problem on another website ... not much time left for blipping!

After our Spanish lesson, during which we discovered that the mayor of Begur (permanent population 4,000) pays himself 60,000 euros a year, double what his predecessor was paid, and almost as much as the mayor of Barcelona, we went for a little walk. These are the railings I poked the camera through to take this blip. It seems such a shame that some of these beautiful houses are left to decay. A local lawyer is buying some of them up, with a view to restoring and selling them. But the people with millions to spend on houses (mostly Russians nowadays) prefer to buy large, secluded modern villas with extensive grounds and views over the sea, not palatial houses crammed up against their neighbours in Begur's narrow back streets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.