NellieD

By NellieD

Eureka!!

I think Manchester must be the home of the weird and wonderful statue!

At lunch today I set out on a mission to photograph the Bee in Sackville Gardens as I heard it was going to be moved for Manchester Pride. I didn't want to miss it as I'm going for the full set!

On the way back to work, I thought I would blip the Vimto monument.  Yes, Manchester also has a monument to that much loved cordial! 

I was pleased with my Vimto blip but out of the corner of my eye I noticed something under the railway arch. As a blipper (I think I can call myself that now), I went to investigate and bumped into this random fella!

It depicts a larger than life-size Archimedes leaping out from a bath during his famous 'Eureka!' moment.  It is sculpted in stone for U.M.I.S.T by Thompson Dagnall and placed there to describe the essence of science.

Vimto will have to wait for another day!  It's amazing how far you can get and what you can see in an hour (well, an hour and 3 minutes if I'm honest).  A quick 5283 steps, if my phone is to believed, and another wonderful, hidden Mancuncian artefact I've never seen before.

Quote for today:
Rise above oneself and grasp the world.
- Archimedes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.