Farmaticus

By TBay

American Shortcake.

As a child I absolutely adored my mothers Strawberry Shortcake. For me it still encapsulates summer in this yummy creation. I always use her recipe from the 1952 Good Housekeeping Encyclopaedia. I know it may seem rather outdated but this book is still a gem! Anyway just for a change I thought I would see what other recipes were out there and I found that most were totally different to my old one and were described as American Shortcake.

I decided I would give it a go and made an American version. To me this is a variation on the great British Scone being very similar in its texture and taste but with sweetness. Mr Tbay and I tested it at coffee time and it was very nice. However I think on balance I prefer the old recipe although this version was sooooo much quicker and easier to prepare. I shall have this one for a fast dessert needed in a hurry. It’s fun to test out various cake variations!

Farming - Mr Tbay Jnr still harvesting in Leicestershire. Hope the rain did not spoil that today. Two on compost hauling as usual.

It rained hoorah! Not a massive amount but enough to help. More of the same please.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.