Thames Rockets

Useful and busy morning at work, then hurried down to the Southbank at lunchtime and met Char at the Green Room restaurant for some lunch.  After a sunny morning there was suddenly a torrential downpour with thunder and lightning while we were in there.  Thankfully it had gone off by the time we came out, but just before we got on the boat this afternoon, it tipped it down again and we got soaked.  

Cue a very soggy but incredibly fun speedboat ride up the Thames to Canary Wharf.  My sister had bought me the voucher for my birthday last year, and I'd bought Char one so she could come and join me (and she treated me to lunch in return).  Had loads of fun, screamed a fair bit, and clung on as the boat twisted and turned at speed.  

The weather just about held off while we were on the boat, but was still a bit rainy.  Of course, as we waked up the gang plank off the boat, the sun came out fully and the skies cleared to blue.  Had a rather soggy walk to Waterloo, where we had a nice hot coffee to warm up - then we both caught our trains home.

Got home just after Tim (spotted him cycling ahead of me just round the corner from home), changed into some dry jeans and had a lovely relaxed Friday evening.  Weekend!  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.