Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Bustin' a move

I was all set to blip a butterfly today, really I was.  I had my year-first Great Spangled Fritillary and Red-spotted Admiral, as well as both Giant and Tiger Swallowtails, and monarchs.  I scarcely knew where to point my camera to be honest.

But as the afternoon evolved, I couldn't stop shooting the hummingbirds.  They were whizzing past me as I stood, crouched, and crept on the patio, sometimes passing close enough for me to feel the breeze from their tiny wings.  All of the regulars are used to me now and really don't pay me any mind at all.  This adult male was busy defending the feeder closest to the cherry tree - he'd zoom back into the thick cover of the tree and then roar out when any other hummer approached the feeder.  It was great fun to watch.  Meanwhile, the young male who's laid claim to the middle section of the patio was also busy waging war.  

I chose this particular photo because I liked that he was in mid-pivot and you can see his tiny feet tucked in against his belly.  Did you know that hummingbirds can't walk or hop?  Their legs are too short and feet too small.  

A good day to be a photographer.  I posted three other shots on Flickr, starting HERE with a nearly perfect male Tiger Swallowtail, followed by juvenile hummer and American goldfinch on sunflowers.  

Great time with out friends last night, and a very enjoyable time on the patio before the mosquitoes finally chased us in.  

Three monarchs released today; two females and one male.  One female released for a beloved daughter whose life ended way too soon; the other two for a beloved brother and sister of a friend of mine.  I have many more butterflies to release over the next 6 weeks so please let me know if I can release one in honor of someone you miss.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.