Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

High Streets

Don't you just love High Streets? This one in West Wickham is pretty awesome. It has just about everything, including its own special shops. I had an appointment at Specsavers and met with Eileen's sister for coffee before that (see extra). I really like the B&W look on both these images, but decided to post the extra in colour.

The weather seems to go from one extreme to another. First, it's boiling hot for days, then it gets really cool, then it rains like there's no tomorrow. I drove up in driving rain which was definitely worse on the M25 compared to any of the other roads. Weatherwise, it's one of the worst drives I've done in this country.

Going back to the High Street, we were walking towards Lidl's and Eileen pointed out someone who walked past. It was George Verwer, head of Operation Mobilisation. He was wearing his very distinct jacket with the globe on it. I ran back to him to have a chat as Pauline knows him well. I got a picture for posterity!

And on a very personal note, my parents would have celebrated their 55th wedding anniversary today, had they both been alive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.