Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Just a cog in the machine

It's been over 6 months since I started my new job - I can't decide if the time has flown by or I feel like i've been there for ever!

The 55 hour weeks are certainly giving the impression of the later!

I wanted to experience what it would be like to work for a global company - to work with and meet a massive range of people from all sorts of backgrounds - directors, managers, co-workers, factory floor workers, collegues from the other side of the planet with a completly alien culture - you have to know how to get on and comunicate with everyone.

My old manager warned me when I handed in my notice that I was going to be lost in a big company and just be a cog in a machine.

After 6 1/2 months, he's not entirely wrong. I am a cog. But I'm amazed daily that taking just one cog out of the machine for one day - a manufacturing engineer, or the project manager, or the guy who does the translations to Japanese, makes the whole thing grind to a halt.

I am a cog, but we all work hard, and we all work together, and every day I get to contribute and make a real difference.

Plus you get a MASSIVE Christmas hamper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.