Off with his head

Ok this is pretty gruesome.I was sitting in the Arbour watching the many hoverflies on the newly opened salmon coloured lily when this wasp appeared caught one of the hoverflies and snapped off its head and then it’s wings and in a matter of seconds it flew off with it’s body.This happened on several more occasions , I assume it was the same wasp so I found it amazing that such a tiny creature could remember where a food source was, Poor hoverflies though.
I had been to the Pool with Anne first thing.A cold start with dew on the cars and a chill in the air.Most of the day was dry and sunny with very heavy downpours in the evening.
Plenty of butterflies around still including a Red Admiral and more Painted ladies as well as lots of peacocks.
Phoned my Mum and Dad and they were pleased that they have had some rain and cooler temperatures. They ‘ve been struggling in the heat.
I was pleased to find out my poppy picture was chosen as 1st Runner up in the Lady Haig’s Poppy Factory competition. My photo will be used as their Facebook profile picture for a week :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.