A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

Who Has The X Factor?

The ballot paper for the privilege to vote on the election of our new Police & Crime Commissioner sat awaiting my attention. Today was the day that my decision would be made.

I'd put it off for over a week as I just haven't had the time or wherewithal to consider it, but with the deadline fast approaching, I took the power back to the people & stuck it to 'the man' by casting my first & second choices. I am partial to a bit of politics & so I did cast an eye over the candidates & their bio's. I must be honest, & much like most people I'm guessing, I'd already half made up my mind before looking, but I did give them all the chance to sell their candidacy to me.

In much the same fashion I followed the previous General Election, a trusty G&T (or three) was by my side to ease me through the endless jargon, inevitable waffle & undoubted porkies.

It is important to make the most of the vote we have been given, in whatever way we feel is right, & to have our say on issues that have a lasting impact on us all.

There is still no change at the Office. None of us new temps have the correct, or even the same, access to the databases we require to do whatever it is we're doing, & so once a good few hours had passed, & a considerable number of online Guardian articles had been read, we trudged back down to the PEP & ISA team to continue our period of dull-dom with them. Oh joy.

On a completely birthday related note, it's our lovely springer spaniel doggie Ozzie's 8th Birthday today (56 in human years & now the most senior member of the household) & although I wanted to make a feature out of this momentous occasion today, I thought a voting special was more appropriate.. & I also forgot. Oops! Sorry Ozmo.

AND so tomorrow Ozmond Hillary will be the centre of my blip attention.

After all, you gotta vote for your right to birth-day! I think that's how it goes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.