Lesser Spotted Kitchen Brown

I was so surprised to find this behind the blinds on the kitchen window this morning.  I haven't seen many butterflies around this year and those I have seen have all been white ones.  As you can see, I am not an expert on butterflies.  However, to honour the appearance of this one in the kitchen this morning, I have done a little research and I believe this to be a speckled wood butterfly who had lost his way from the woods at the bottom of the garden into my kitchen.

The shot was not without its challenges as it was on glass, with a very bright morning outside.  I am quite pleased that I managed to get it in a moment of stillness for the butterfly .

It is raining.  Not much, but the plants and lawn will be grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.