Hallelujah

The Bridge theatre to see the new Alan Bennett. Good but not his best. But the big incident was my encounter with a queue jumper...

...I was patiently lining up to buy a pre-performance drink. It was taking a while and I was nearly at the bar. An elderly smartly dressed gent pulled alongside me and lent on the bar. He's surely not jumping me is he? Sure enough the bar operative served him before me. As it was the theatre I wanted to act civilised and not make too much of a row about it. So I leant across to him.

"Excuse me" I said. "I must congratulate you on the skilful way you pushed in front of me there".

"Yes it was rather" he replied with a smile. " I have had years of experience".

"Well what a brilliant queue jumper you are" I summarised and just smiled back.

The cheek of it. I had to stop myself doing an (alleged) Ben Stokes on him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.