Real food- Stirling Farmers Market

Ashley Robinson is an urban farmer. She dug up her front lawn in Stirling and turned it into a vegetable patch.
 
Today I met this enthusiastic Canadian, who calls her project the Fat Hen Farm, at the monthly Farmers market in the town centre.
 
She says:
“Instead of starting a whole farm from scratch I decided to begin on a tiny scale- I turned my front garden into a place to grow and sell crops.”
 
She combines it with her day job with the local council.
“ My aim is to produce food close to where people live, growing in partnership with nature.”
 
I couldn’t agree more. Having grown up on a farm that is what we always did.
 
She shares her stall with a Comrie based duo also into organic vegetables and fruit.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.