My Crazy Life! ;-)

By FreckledBoy221

Baby William’s Gravestone

Today we visited Wimpole Hall again. It’s becoming a regular haunt, we’ve got to make the most of those extortionately priced National Trust memberships.

We drove home through the South Cambridgeshire village of Orwell and I have been meaning to find an old Victorian era or thereabouts child’s grave to look after and maintain after I saw a reference to a scheme online in Derbyshire where locals sponsor a grave in the local churchyard and keep it tidy and lay flowers for the person who lies beneath.

I thought it would be a nice idea to something similar obviously on an unofficial basis because there is no adopt a grave scheme anywhere near here.

I walked around the churchyard in Orwell and the first headstone I came across was under an overgrown tree and it was a bit called Willian who died in the 1800’s aged just 6 months. It was a sign and I connected instantly.

William is a very lucky little boy. He will get fresh flowers on his birthday and at Christmas time and I will visit from time to time to say hello to him.

I wish more churchyards would start up an official adopt a grave scheme. Such a wonderful idea and I was clearly very inspired.

We followed off the day with more clearance in the overfilled granny Annexe. I fear another dump run is imminent. I hope to move in soon and say goodbye to my old hell hole of a Council house - don’t ask!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.