dreaming

By dreaming

A busy morning

We've actually had .03" of rain today, and the weather is much cooler - 72 at the moment.  It was lovely to sleep in a cool room last night, and just to feel comfortable being in my own home.  Of course we're looking at 89 for Tuesday...

Today at the library we had more students than tutors, a complete contrast to the last few weeks when students were out enjoying the sunshine.  I spent my time with a Russian woman who's lived in Seattle for six years, having come here to be with her daughter, a student at Seattle Pacific University.  An architect, she has also worked as an English teacher.  You can't imagine how crazy that seems, given her poor command of pronunciation, spelling and vocabulary.  But we had a good time with her reading aloud from a young adult novel and me correcting her pronunciation, defining words and phrases, and helping her to learn the difference between words that sound alike, such as whale and wail.  I'm sure she'll be back next week.  Both my Vietnamese and my Turkish students were here, but they arrived a bit late and I was already fixed up with Linda.  I don't know who I'll be working with next week.

After I left the library, I stopped at Central Market as I usually do, getting some exercise walking around with a shopping cart with little pain.  Today they were sampling six different types of melon, which were on sale.  I tasted a few and liked one.  Outside the entrance there was this wonderful display of large plant pots full of colorful flowers of all varieties.  It caught my eye immediately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.