Fun in the Arena

After surviving a night in a tent it was a fabulous day of fun in the games arena at the Weald of Kent Steam Rally Day One.

Managed 2 hours 37 mins sleep after staying up drinking tea with friends in their caravan until 3am! Spent most of the day capturing photos and video and assisting the show commentator before arena crew duties in the afternoon.

The Tractor Parade kicked off the arena in the morning with a wonderful collection of all sizes and makes including a Nuffield which I’m fond of as my great grandad used to own one.

Military vehicles were next with tanks, Willis Jeeps and Land Rovers. I had a ride in one of the jeeps and learnt it had served with the French resistance.

Arena games commenced with a slow race except some of the engine drivers thought it was the slalom so it was utter chaos and very funny! See my video here.

The slow race was restarted and then I hopped onto a steam roller called ‘GEM’ for the slalom. It was mighty hard work spinning the wheel one direction then the other with the heat of the engine blasting at me. Huge amount of fun and her owner Martyn was good humoured enough not to mind when I flattened two cones! Whoops.

By the evening we were all gagging for the beer tent and enjoyed a delicious bacon pudding and stew cooked by my friend Ross in one of the engines. The funfair was going all evening and the showman engines beautifully lit up.

The temperature plummeted late evening and I leant on my friend’s engine to keep warm. Finally collapsed in my tent at 130am after saying I’d get an early night. The problem is these engine drivers have such good stories!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.