Steam Friends

A blisteringly hot day with more fun and games in the arena. The Tigers Army Parachute Team jumped in again. Always fun to catch up with the lads who I bump into at various air shows throughout the season.

The grass in the arena is more or less dry straw so the fire crew and helpers had our work cut out with engines dropping hot ash and setting the ground alight. See my photos here.

Musical steam engines turned into a rough and tumble over the last cone and the Grand Parade was fabulous as ever with 100 engines blowing whistles.

I was lucky enough to get another drive on GEM but this time forgot my gloves and ended up with a friction burn on my hand - yikes! Earlier in the afternoon I literally flew off a steam car in my rush to stamp out a fire. These rallies should come with a health warning as I’m now covered in bruises, scratches and burns. Was it worth it? Absolutely!

As is tradition at these events we ended up in the village pub in the evening, a couple of engines parked outside. Sat on my friend’s Field Marshall tractor and have been promised a drive soon. A fabulous weekend with steam friends old and new. Back to reality tomorrow and already looking forward to the next steam event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.