Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Oh! Hello There!

I was moseying down to the paper box to get Sunday's paper at mid-morning today - camera in hand - looking for butterflies. All of a sudden I looked to my left and saw the back end of a deer. She was standing right on the bank that goes sharply up from the driveway - no more, I swear, than 15 feet from me. She had her back to me and hadn't heard me coming - and we noticed each other at about the same time. I think we both jumped about a foot in the air and let out simultaneous squeaks of surprise! She looked at me for a moment longer and then moved just a few feet further up the bank so that she was behind some weeds and under a tree. She stood there watching me while I took her photo; I went on down the driveway and got the paper; Swee'pea was standing in the driveway seemingly oblivious, and seemed not to bother the deer (maybe because she's deer colored??). I came back up the driveway and she was still there - just watched me walked by again. I do speak to her when we meet. I hope she'll get more and more comfortable!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.