Exhibition

The final day of the Penrith Art Club Summer Exhibition today, organised by Mrs IttH, and (mostly) physically erected & dismantled by yours truly with the help of a team of well meaning but oh so exhausting elderly members.

With Mrs IttH arriving at lunch to organise final book keeping and the collection of sold paintings I knew I'd a few hours to kill before the exhibition closed, so I thought I'd try a longer swim. Unlike running it's fairly difficult (for me) to moderate my pace after a certain point but I managed 3000m, by which time I'd gone past contemplation, through meditation and found myself hitting a wall of utter boredom. I think any further would need to be outdoors or involve some form of diversion like a poolside band.

We managed to get the exhibition up, on display for a week and dismantled all without any mishap - an improvement on last year...

Tonight's attempt at a celebratory meal was farcical. First newly opened pub (The Greyhound at Shap) at least looked fantastic... but had run out of food. Second attempt (the under new ownership Cross Keys at Tebay) had a chef who hadn't turned up. So we retired to the usually excellent Black Swan at Ravenstonedale who served up an offering so salty it was inedible. Thank heavens we had ice cream and wine in at home......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.