WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Prepare for takeoff

I think this very large swallowtail must have only just hatched -- it was so pristine, and flapping around in a rather haphazard way, as if it was only just learning to fly. Or maybe the air temperature in the shade was too low for flying.

I've blipped only a couple of butterflies this summer -- they were very scarce during the really hot spell, but seem to be reappearing now that we've had some rain and temperatures are more clement. Pool to myself again this morning, bar two visitors who didn't stay long. Then I had to go to Lézignan to ask the bank how they had mysteriously managed to lose 5,000 euros in a transfer between two accounts. The explanation seemed to involve it being Monday when I did it. It's Monday again, so I asked the clerk how she knew it was going to work this time round ... she had no response to this. Then I had to try four cash machines at three different banks before I found one that was working, so maybe there is something about Mondays.

Swallowtail spotted on the way back to the car. Barbecue ingredients bought, but not warm enough this evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.