WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Well supplied

For PaulaJ :) Reading is a major part of my life at present, so I've been stocking up. Mostly second-hand items from my ongoing wishlist (the Internet is great for that), and there are a couple of bookclub choices in there.

Not getting out much means blipping is intermittent and photos increasingly desperate. Sunday was lunch at the social club bar (moules frites, excellent), Just Talk with only seven people (it's running out of steam...) ,and a late coffee at the social club bar chatting with S and R and their visiting daughter N. 

Monday: physio visit. The physios are a husband and wife team, and up to now I've only seen wife M, who is very gentle and cautious. She's on holiday this week and husband P was a revelation. He did a really good massage and then introduced a bunch of more challenging exercises to build muscle. Result, I tossed away one crutch as suggested by the surgeon, and I've even negotiated all our stairs in an upright position as opposed to on my bum. I feel much more confident, as nothing that P did hurt.

Today was table tennis day Obviously I'm not playing, but it's still fun to go along and watch while chatting with T. S and M still aren't winning, but they get better every time, and M in particular has a mean spinning serve.

In other news my youngest sister D has broken a leg for the third time in less than three years ... a complex fracture of the tibia close to the knee, more commonly associated with motorbike accidents and skiing. She was walking the dogs at the time. Now lying in hospital in Nottingham waiting for a gap in the surgeon's schedule ... so I feel quite fortunate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.