In a box

Moss: This, Jen, is the Internet.
Jen: What?
Moss: That's right.
Jen: This is the Internet? The whole Internet?
Moss: Yep. I asked for a loan of it so that you could use it in your speech.
Jen: It's so small.
Moss: That's one of the surprising things about it.
Jen: Hang on, it doesn't have any wires or anything.
Moss: It's wireless.

I slumber through the morning and then do some git surgery. An Uber whisks me to the Computer History museum - the driver a retired consultant, driving a car rented from an exchange site called Get About for $5/hour.

The Cloud Bistro serves me a very dull sandwich that arrives at about the same time as Cameron, an erstwhile colleague from Amazon who moved to CA to work for Twitter and is now at Netflix. He claims he will never work for Facebook ;)

The museum sprawls over the ground floor. Each of the twenty “rooms” is themed, but I reckon that our sprawling conversation took precedent. In almost no time they were announcing the approach of closing time. We scuttled round and out and into Cameron’s Range Rover.

He dropped me back at Agnew. I went and had a fairly awful enchilada at Pedro’s before heading to the local convenience store where I bought a very large can of IPA and an organic fudge lolly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.