AMK81

By AMK81

London Road Fire Station

I've been at work, but I managed to get out for a 15 minute walk at lunch time. I walked through Sackville Gardens and saw the Alan Turing statue was holding a bunch of flowers. Then I decided to walk in a random direction. This brought me to the old red brick & terracotta fire station known as London Road Fire Station (on the corner of Whitworth Street, Minshull Street South and Fairfield Street). It's a gorgeous building - from the outside at least - and has many decorative pieces and sculptures on it. I did a tour of the building a year or two ago with a friend and it was fascinating - made more so by the fact that one of the ladies on the tour had lived in the station as her husband was stationed there. The inside has become quite run down unfortunately. It's been a grade 2 listed building since the 1970s, but it's been sold in the past couple of years and is due to be developed. The building is still listed though, so they'll have to take care of any original features!

My extra is some graffiti from across the road - it's now quite a run down area that the building is in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.