Border Tails

By Swannie

Contra Nando Incrementum

I was up at Mum’s this morning with Christine and Ben. We stopped in Peebles on the way back so that we could visit Forsyth’s the Butcher to buy lasagne pies (they are to die for) and I saw this ornament/birdbath/sculpture outside the Eastgate Theatre. It represents the three salmon that feature on Peebles coat of arms. The Latin phrase “Contra Nando Incrementum” means “Growth by swimming against the stream”. For every salmon that ventures up the Tweed to the spawning grounds, two swim back down allegedly.

In other news, my washer/dryer had stopped working over a week ago, but despite the fact that it is eleven years old, I decided not to just go and buy another one, but to book an engineer. After I got back from Peebles, I had to make a start on clearing some stuff out of the cupboard that I keep the machine in, so that there was room to work. I decided to give it one more chance to work - and it did! looks like I might get a few more years out of it yet!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.