Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Kew

MONDAY

I jumped on the District Line and headed over to Kew Gardens to see the newly restored Grade I Temperate House which is described as "The World's Greatest Glasshouse" and which contains rare and threatened plants from across the world. 

The restoration has taken five years and all 15,000 panes of glass have been renewed and the structure repaired and painted. The plants inside appear relatively young and a dwarfed by the sheer enormity of the building (see extras). Maybe in ten or twenty years time they will completely fill the space.

The main blip is the Palm House where I found much larger exotic specimens. I just love it here, but couldn't stay inside for long as it was so hot and humid. Inside the Palm House

This evening I went on a guided gaslight tour of Westminster. 

25,152 steps

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.