madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Busy, Busy!

Headache free I finally got round to doing something I've wanted to for many months - move the vivarium! It's huge - 91 x121 x 61cm!!! It was great for my dear snake Amelia but way too big for the non-climbing Gunther! I'd asked 2 handymen to build a shelf in it so I could use the upper empty space - but they never got back to me! I decided I'd use it to store jumpers in my attic! Having measured it up I realised I'd have to take it apart to get it through the attic doorway. Whilst I was up there I emptied  one wooden chest and moved it to the stairs ready to take the space left by  the vivarium, and moved the other chest  into it's place - attic looks quite spacious! Next job was cleaning the old tank for Gunther and moving him and the locusts into it - well that was fun with the locusts jumping here there and everywhere! Next job was getting all the sand out the tank - decided to use a dustpan and brush after my last mishap with taking sand out with the hoover! Don't know why I didn't just move the darn thing that time! 
At this point Vegan Jo called in for a chat as arranged. I made her a drink and explained what I was doing and we decided the vivarium would look good in my spare bedroom. So she moved all the shoes from the stairway whilst I finished clearing the tank of sand. Then I had to take all the plugs off the heated mats to get them out of the tank! Had to make the hole thru which they were inserted a little bigger with a handy screw hole maker, as the thermostat lead would not fit through the hole it had got through originally! Then with a pull and a push we got the vivarium up the stairs! getting the wooden chest down was easy - it just slid down! 
Another drink to celebrate and I let her look through the bag of stuff I'd already collected to take to the charity shop - she took the lot! Result! Think her daughters will take the jewellery and maybe the inspirational quotes 365 day calendars! 
Once she left I put Gunther in his tank  in his new position and remembered how the glass used to freak him out! He stands up against it and scrabbles at the glass with his front legs! Also the wooden top makes it really dark. Good job I'd saved the pieces of glass from a decorative small greenhouse the other week! They made a secure top and let the light in! I then arranged lights either side and placed the black wooden top at the back and a print to one side. Next job was giving the wooden chest some restorative oil and finding places for all of my mums Chinese painting equipment and family photos that used to make a display on the top of the vivarium. I have 5 shelves either side of the fireplace in the alcoves ... you can imagine the amount of moving around of ornaments that entailed! I had already moved the TV stand and hoovered, and taken apart various displays in a wooden tray and whicker bowls, so the thought of actually dusting the shelves was one step too far - I just dusted the ornaments! By 6 o clock all was done and I was famished! Eggy toast it was and then time to get my waterproofs on for the hens bedtime! Luckily the rain actually stopped whilst I was up there!
Once home I sat in my armchair instead of my sofa, hence the moving of the TV stand! As I sat there and admired all my work, I kept leaping up to swop ornaments until I was satisfied with the layout! Milkshake is very happy with Gunther in the tank on the floor - she spent the entire eve laying in front of it watching Gunther explore his new home. She kept swiping the glass trying to catch him! Also all the locusts climbed up the tank to the light that was shining in! As the floor of the tank is heated for Gunther, I can only think it was the bright light that was attracting them - strange they never climbed up to the light in the vivarium. 
The next big moving task is the old coop in my back garden to the allotment to make more room for the puppy Oscar to play - but there are tons of plants on top of it and in front of it, plus pots and bulbs stored inside - that job can wait till France Dweller is staying with me! I must think of a new name for her once she is living in England again! Maybe Osca's Mum?!!! Actually I think Wine Girl would be more appropriate - you can't live with a frenchman for 21 years and France for 7 without a taste for wine! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.