A BUSY MORNING!

It has been a great year for blackberries so Mr. HCB has been picking them for about three weeks - most of them he has put in the freezer, but when he brought in a large basinful yesterday, I decided that I would make some Blackberry and Apple Chutney.  Mr. HCB went off to the dentist early, so I decided today was the day. 

I had all the ingredients, so got them all together and then decided it would make a good shot for a Blip.  I also had some jars that had previously contained Bonne Maman jam - saved for me by my friend, Heather.  They have colourful lids, so the finished product looks good and I will certainly give a jar to Heather and her husband, Michael.

It is quite time-consuming peeling cooking apples, onions and ginger and of course, I cried when doing the onions.  Lynn, my next door neighbour came to see if I needed anything from the shop and wondered why I was crying!  

It was soon all in the pan and bubbling away - and the kitchen smelt wonderful.  It only took about an hour to cook and put the chutney into jars - see extra - and we shall enjoy it for many months to come - that is unless I give it away - and I do tend to do that - make lots and then give most of it away!  Ah well, I’m sure there will be more blackberries and now we have had some rain, they will probably be even bigger and better.

I did take a small dish of the chutney over to Lynn for her to try and she gave it the "Good Neighbour Seal of Approval" - so will probably give her a jar too;  they will also make good gifts for Christmas - better ask Heather if she has any more jars!

I have just taken a blackberry and apple crumble out of the oven - and that also smells and looks delicious - so a dish of that with some custard for our dessert tonight sounds good.

“More blessings come from giving 
     than from receiving.”
Acts 20 : 35 
Contemporary English Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.