On The Wing

MrQ had a bonfire down the field after a downpour last week. Yesterday morning I took a pic of a dunnock on huge pile of twiggy wood that hadn't burnt. Last evening I noticed a tiny curl of smoke. When Ollie and I went down there this morning there wasn't a scrap left. There must have been a conflagration over night. As the ashes were still hot I threw old fencing panels one by one onto them. Our builder neighbour had asked if we would burn them for him. Soon the flames were licking high into the air. I was a bit worried that the long dry grass would catch light. Ollie dog loved the task, we stayed and fire-watched for a while. (Extras)

Two moths in my montage. I only got the ventral view of the one top left, it could be one of the waves. Top right is a latticed heath moth, I love these day-flying beauties. An accommodating comma butterfly on a burdock seedhead bottom left and a holly blue on a nice fresh burdock flower bottom right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.