Young Woody - A Flicker Of Recognition

We hear green woodpeckers calling a lot but don't often see them.  I spotted this juvenile in the Donkey Field this morning when I had my macro lens on. I crouched down, swapped lenses and managed a few shots. I love its muddy bill from digging for ants. I think it might be a young male as it has a tinge of red in its 'moustache'. Its speckled breast reminds me of the flickers that blippers from the US post. I hadn't heard of or seen these members of the woodpecker family until I saw them on blip.

I took Ollie dog to Pets at Home this morning to buy her some toys and treats as I'll be out and about quite a bit over the next few days. We were  at the till paying and didn't notice a friendly little Shih Tzu arrive. When I looked around Ollie and it were nosing each other and wagging. I was so pleased. She then put her front paws on the counter looking like a human customer and was rewarded with a biscuit. Emboldened we went into Office Outlet for some printer ink and she was well-received there. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.