Sitting pretty

I stayed up too late last night (doing genealogy) and then didn't get the best sleep.  That then meant a later start to my day.

I spent a couple of hours outside in the backyard, despite the heat, and enjoyed watching all the birds at the feeders.  There were several hummingbirds about. 

With all the rain we had in June/July, the biting insects seem to be bigger and more abundant than ever!  Extra #1 is a horsefly in the grass.  Even on a sunny day, you daren't go outside without bug repellent on.  

Extra #2 is some of one of my pink gaura bushes.  I don't know why, but I so enjoy taking shots of the gaura.  

I got the trilogy by Gerald N Lund, called Fire and Steel, on audio book format.  I have been listening to it over the last few days and am only half way through.  I love his books as he has a way of writing that draws you right into the story.  I also love how he uses historical facts and people within his books to make it so real.  

I could easily ignore duties and obligations around me as I listen and get absorbed by the stories of lives of the people he writes about.  I want to keep reading and get to the end so I know but I don't want the story/books to end!  

Think maybe the hubby will be glad when the earphones are off again and I actually listen to him and give him more than half hearted passing attention!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.