A skittish hoverfly likes an unusual bulb's flower

I've nurtured this big bulb since last summer and it has been gently producing a succession of long leaves in a large pot on the patio. Today I suddenly noticed a long stem which must have shot up in the last couple of days and now has seven buds growing and preparing to open wide. The first bud produced this very pretty flower today which slowly unfurled as the day progressed.

As I was setting it up on the patio table to take a flower I was amused by this hover fly which seemed to be watching me as I played with the camera and lens. I gave up trying to follow its flight and then suddenly it alighted on this lovely bloom.

I quickly changed my photographic intent from recording the first of the seven flowers, which only unfurled today for the first time. This rather pretty fly rather generously landed on the flower in a good spot for me to take its picture. I'll record the flowers another day as there are six more of them to come, but I'm glad I managed to catch this little hoverfly, which didn't hang about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.