The one with the basement laundry

We will come back to that and to this shot that surprisingly made me actually cry.

Super early up and out for Will and me to use our Express Empire State Building tickets from yesterday when the weather was crap. With our special wrist bands on we were ushered down diversionary alleys past huge empty rooms where presumably the queues we had paid to divert were meant to be queuing. No matter, we were at the 86th floor in record time. Familiarity breeds contempt, it was exactly as I thought it was going to be albeit with a whole mysterious mist thing.

Anyhoo, home by 9:30 where our housemates had been washing their hair and putting their makeup on. Out for a fab tasty brunch then MUJI, stationery shop, random wandering for a coffee shop. Then a coffee shop, Union Square where I went to the drugstore for band aids for Daisy’s blisters. Then home for a rest up and for me literally to be someone out of Friends (I think Phoebe in my head but perhaps more like Joey). I went to the basement to do some laundry! I was literally laughing to myself in the elevator, so chuffed I was with the whole event.

That done and thunderstorms passed we set forth for new adventures. Deposited Daisy at the World Trade Centre mall and went to the 9/11 memorial. I was last here in 2008, it was very different then. The pools of the towers were amazing and very beautiful carvings of everyone’s names. They place a rose for every person on their birthday, so Happy Birthday Richard. We didn’t bother with the actual museum, was stunned at how moved I was.

Then a hour in the most bizarre mall in the world, spread over two ( maybe three?) locations. I decided best course from there was to go to the most bizarre hotel bar for drinks. Will just needed water and a seat so expectations were exceeded with a pineapple juice and a seat.

And for the first time we repeated a restaurant. V good though with some good laughing. Last NY day tomorrow....

Extras available, including the laundry room!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.