Names from the past

I took a side trip on my ride home this evening to call in at one of the supermarkets for some needed supplies. Just after I got back on Ponsonby Road I went past Flotsam and Jetsam, which could be called an antique shop (with a bit of imagination) and certainly could be called a junk shop. The proprietor would likely not approve of the second description, and would rather a term such as pre-loved, whatever that is meant to convey.

I noticed this Honours Board and thought I may have recognised the name C J B Norwood. I was never a regular player of snooker or even billiards (my preferred game as a student when cutting lectures, or going without lunch at the oldOlympic Billiard Parlour near the Medical School. However, I did read sports pages, and somehow that name seemed familiar. A very quick look, and that is likely to be a false memory.

There may be descendants of some of these men (they would have all been men in those days) who might feel pleased to have a record of the skill of the forebear. Currently, it is leant there waiting a purchaser.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.