Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Common Blue Butterfly

At 1430 hours on Tuesday 14 August, I started to upload my picture for today’s blip; this is a back blip. Just as I was deciding which picture to use my husband swore and said he had cut his finger, sharpening a knife; blood was spurting so it was not a do-it-yourself job. We went to our surgery where the nurse had a quick look and said go to the Minor injuries Unit in Bishop’s Stortford; I almost went straight to A and E at Addenbrookes hospital in Cambridge; later I wished I had. We were the last to be seen at the Minors Unit and it was discovered that not only had he cut the skin on his thumb, but severed three-quarters of the way through the tendon; we then had to go to Addenbrookes. Despite an x-ray being taken at Bishop’s Stortford another was taken when we got to Addenbrookes as well as blood taken for matching. We waited three hours and I hoped that because we had a detailed letter of the problem that we might not have to wait as long; not so. The tendon has to be operated on by a plastic surgeon using a local anaesthetic and probably performed on Wednesday or Thursday. We have to wait for a telephone call on Wednesday. My husband has posted a picture of his x-ray as his blip today.
 
We left the tiler who hoped to complete as much as possible of the kitchen as possible. He will come back to finish the floor when the gas meter and boiler have been moved. We called into home as we were passing, so that my husband could take his evening medication and locked the house as the tiler was just about to leave.

My picture today is of a Common Blue Butterfly, it is the first one I have seen in my garden this year. I think it is a female as it has less blue on it, but I could be wrong and I am sure someone will confirm whether I am right or wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.