NellieD

By NellieD

Take heed Winnie

Today I decided I needed to step back a little as everything seemed to land on my plate at once, all nice things, but I have to realise I can't do everything - despite what I may think!

When I met my friend for lunch on Monday, she gave me £30 for the food bank.  This happens to me all the time, someone slipped £10 in my pocket at the crochet group on Saturday ... book club meets in a park for a walk and I go away with a boot full of shampoo!

I spent the money on more nappies as they never have enough and took them over at lunch today.  I see this plaque hanging on the door every time I go to the food bank and I always think what a lovely welcome it is, especially for someone who may be going for the first time or having a really bad day.

I think this has a little bit added to it as I know the original quote is what Christopher Robin says to Winnie the Pooh.  It's well worth remembering nevertheless.

Instead of running round trying to find something else of interest to blip, I decided today it was more important for me to sit down for half an hour with a coffee and a book - especially since book club meets on Tuesday and I haven't started the book yet!

Quote for today:
You can't pour from an empty cup.
- Unknown 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.