NellieD

By NellieD

Back on Track

By 8.30 am this morning, I had managed to Blip, fill up the car with petrol, do a quick Asda shop and be sat at my desk.  The cat (that's not our cat) is doing much better now after apparently losing the use of his legs the other week.  He decided he wanted to go out at 5 am so I was awake and after lying there with my eyes open (practising my sign language songs in my head for Sunday) I decided to just get up.

We think the cat must have strained his back, probably after a fall or landing heavily.  Given that I saw him sitting on next door's bedroom window ledge, and chased me up the stairs last night whilst trying to swipe my legs, he's obviously feeling better!

Today's blip is another piece of street art from the 2016 exhibition of Cities of Hope.  I drive past it every night and, without fail, I look at those amazingly realistic hands.

The internet says that the mural was by German artist Case who has a photorealistic style and his impactful piece can be found on Cable Street on the side of Swan Buildings.  The piece depicts a man resting in seeming exhaustion on a bar, incorporating his signature hand-based imagery. 

Partnering with ‘Back on Track’, a Manchester charity that enables disadvantaged adults to make lasting, positive changes in their lives.  He scrapped his original plan and he decided to paint one of the people they support. The man in the painting is called ‘A’ a man who the project helps.”

I am amazed that someone can produce something like this with spray paint!

Quote for today:
Holding hands is a promise to one another that, for just a moment, the two of you don't have to face the world alone.
- Unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.