NellieD

By NellieD

Pop, but no bubbles

I literally didn't know which photo to use today.  I got lots more street art in Manchester, then headed over to Didsbury as I was hosting an open air theatre event with book club before rushing home to go out to a golf do to celebrate with the guy who has just won the British Senior Amateur championship.

I decided to go with the blip that I wouldn't be able to recreate, Heartbreak Production's afternoon performance of the Railway Children by E Nesbit.

I picked up 3 book club ladies as they don't drive and we got to talking about wine and the knack to opening champagne bottles - not that I do it very often!  One of my friends said that more people apparently die every year from accidents with a champagne cork than shark attacks!  We arrived in the park and were setting up our deckchairs when we heard the pop of a champagne bottle and the cork whacked me right on the back of the neck! What a coincidence!!

The performance was great and made a really nice change to all the Shakespeare we've been watching recently.  Sometimes you need something a bit lighter and fluffy!  Peter stole the show, he was brilliant.

Quote for today:
I drink Champagne when I'm happy and when I'm sad.  Sometimes I drink it when I'm alone.  When I have company I consider it obligatory.  I trifle with it if I'm not hungry and drink it when I am.  Otherwise, I never touch it - unless I'm thirsty.
- Lily Bollinger

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.